What's really going on in there...

I wish it would rain

10/06/2009 00:22

Finally! After waiting for five days, Friday was here and it was an early release day. It was time for the fun to begin. What more could a high school student ask for?

I had big plans. I was going to go to the homecoming parade, the football game and hang out with friends.

Well, as it turns out nothing happened as planned. Instead of having fun I was contemplating building an ark.

After raining non-stop, day and night, El Dorado was practically under water. Everything was canceled, including school (which I'm not complaining about).

Following the emergency evacuation of EHS, my editorial responsibilities kicked into high gear. After trying to "secretly" communicate with my glamorous journalism teacher at school in the chaos, I was traveling around town taking pictures of the many flooded streets and rivers that were coming out of their banks in El Dorado.

My "hairdo" (which took 17 min.) was completely ruined because of the pounding rain. My favorite coat was drenched and smelled like moldy gym socks. My fabulous new shoes were also drenched due to me standing in ankle deep water shooting pictures for the El Dorado Crier.

Not really my idea of fun if you ask me. I could think of a million other "fun" things to do like watch reruns of "Hannah Montana" or eat the school's lunch.

Anyone who knows me, knows that personal appearance means a lot to me, and on Friday, I looked like a drowned rat while shopping at Wal-Mart. Although, I did fit right in with the weird crowd that always seems to lurk at Wal-Mart.

I was wearing mostly new clothes on Friday and was not happy to go home and change out of my "disgustingly chic" attire.

Even though we had a lot of rain on Friday, the weekend wasn't a complete "wash out." On Saturday I went to a movie with friends and on Sunday I enjoyed a bike ride in the beautiful weather. I even still managed to take in the EHS football game Monday night.

Back

Search site

© 2009 All rights reserved.